The Department of Anaesthesiology took its roots way back in the year 1966 in J.N. Medical College, Belgaum, immediately after the inception of the College with two staff members. Dr. P.M. Bellad was the First Head of the Department. Dr. P.F. Kotur was Head of the Dept from 1996 to 2006 and Registrar, KLE University from 2006 to 2012. He is an eminent administrator & academician. He hold the post of Vice Chancellor, Sri Devaraj Urs Deemed University presently. Dr. V.K. Dhulkhed known academician and a teacher of Anaesthesiology was Prof. & Head of the Depart. from 2006 to 2008. Dr. C.S. Sanikop was Prof. & Head of the Dept. from 2009 to 2012. Dr. S.N. Suresh was Prof. & Head of the Dept. from Sept. 2012 to Sept. 2014. Dr. M.G. Dhorigol took the charge as Prof. & Head of the Dept. of Anaesthesiology from the ear October 2014 onwards.

Diploma in Anaesthesiology (DA) course was started in 1978 & the MD course in 1988.

Old KLES Hospital was established in the year 1986 with bed strength 300 and the state of art, New KLE Dr Prabhakar Kore Hospital & MRC in 1996 with a capacity of 1000 beds. KLE Dr Prabhakar Kore Hospital & MRC was commissioned in the year 2004. It has bed strength of 920. Now the department is the part of the KLE University since 2006.

We provide comprehensive anaesthesia care to the patient, render anaesthesia service in areas outside the operation theatre such as Pain Service, I.C.U., I.C.C.U., Emergency & Trauma Care, Labour Analgesia, Impart training to medical & Paramedical & others in Basic Life Support & Advance Cardiac Life Support. The department excels in the specialized field of Anaesthesiology, Critical Care, Medicine & comprehensive pain management and impart value based education to the students to create environment for their social & spiritual development. Department of Anaesthesiology conducted continued educational programmes (CME) & activities to keep up with the changing trends in the field of Anaesthesiology & strive to be the top Anaesthesiology department in the country and to get global recognition.

The teaching faculty of the department conducts Seminars, Journal Clubs, Case Discussions, Mortality and Morbidity meetings and diabetic lectures regularly. Department runs regular Anaesthesia OPD cum Pain Clinic in KLE Dr Prabhakar Kore Charitable Hospital & KLES Dr. Prabhakar Kore Hospital & Medical Research Centre, Belgaum. The Post Graduate students are encouraged to attend Conferences, CME programs and to present scientific papers. They are also exposed to all the subspecialties of Anaesthesia like Cardiothoracic, Neurosurgical, Urology, Paediatric, Plastic surgery & Laparoscopic Surgery, etc. It will not be an overstatement if we say that postgraduate teaching program of our department is one of the best in India. The Anaesthesia techniques which we follow and teach include latest techniques in general anaesthesia, various regional blocks including spinal and epidural anaesthesia, other field blocks for post operative pain management.

Our department aims to train the undergraduates in the basics of Anaesthesia care and produce a competent anaesthesiologist capable of carrying out anaesthesia procedures in all fields of surgery and managing critically ill patients and carry out pain management, impart knowledge of research methodology and scientific temper for the advancement anaesthesia knowledge. We enable students to inculcate analytical, practical and communication skills, depute faculty for updating their knowledge and research skill and facilitate achieving the institutional goal and producing a physician of first contact having the basic knowledge of anesthesiology and skills to teach and practice CPR. Our department has a well maintained Anaesthesiology museum and library in addition to central library. Our library is having all modern books and indexed journals in addition of its first kind unique digital library. The department has an internet connection having an access to computerized bibliographic data base (Medline) & computerized library.

The department imparts Hands on Training on Cardiopulmonary Brain Resuscitation (CPBR) to all the medical, paramedical and also lay public round the year. We are the pioneers, who are responsible for the institution of “KLE University J.N. Medical College Dept. of Anaesthesiology Annual Ora­tion” during the State level conference in the year 1997. It has been a regular feature every year and till today Seventeen Orations (17) have been awarded to various senior anaesthesiologists in the field of Anaesthesiology. Our Staff members in addition to service and teaching are in­volved in research work. They have presented papers/posters in various international, national and state conferences and published scientific articles in International, National, State & Regional Journals. We hope to achieve excellence in all aspects and bring up the department to the global standards.

Our Consultants

    • Dr. M.G. Dhorigol – Professor & HOD
    • Dr. C.S. Sanikop – Professor
    • Dr. S.N. Suresh – Professor
    • Dr. Vandana.A. Gogate – Professor
    • Dr. Rajesh.S. Mane – Professor

    • Dr. Vijay.S. Umarani – Professor
    • Dr. Manjunath.C. Patil – Associate Professor
    • Dr. Kedareshvara. K.S. – Associate Professor
    • Dr. Chaitanya.A. Kamat – Assistant Professor

    • Dr. Shreedevi Yenni – Assistant Professor
    • Dr. Vinayaka Jannu – Assistant Professor
    • Dr. Guruprasad Shetty – Assistant Professor
    • Dr. Rashmi Bawdekar – Assistant Professor


1. KLES Dr. Prabhakar Kore Hospital & MRC, Belagavi (including Trauma care, MICU, SICU, PICU, ICU, Cardiac OT and Cath lab, Urology, ARC, Psychiatry).

2. KLES Dr. Prabhakar Kore Charitable Hospital, Belagavi.

3. KMC Ankola and KLE’s ICU, Hubli

4. Cancer Hospital, Belagavi.