Dr. Richard Saldanha who was working as Senior Consultant Cardiothoracic Surgeon at Nawaloka Hospital, Colombo, Sri Lanka and former Professor and Head of Cardiothoracic surgery, Sri Ramachandra University Hospital, Chennai for 16 years has been newly appointed as Chief Cardiothoracic surgeon at our KLES Dr. Prabhakar Kore Hospital & MRC. Dr. Richard is one of the senior most Cardiac Surgeon of India with vast experience.

Dr. Mohan D. Gan who is Professor & Head of the Department of Cardio-Thoracic Surgery has joined this esteemed Institute in the year 2001. Before this he was working in B. M. Birla Heart Research Centre in Kolkata.

The Department has completed more than 20,000 Heart Surgeries since its inception in the year 1997. The Department of Cardiac Surgery has experienced and dedicated team of Cardiac Surgeons Dr. Vittal Shavi, Dr. Amrutraj Nerlikar, Dr. Kiran Kurkure, Dr. Ravi Ghatnatti and Dr. Abhishek Prabhu. The Department of Cardiac Anaesthesia is headed by Dr. Anand Vagarali; Dr. Sharanagouda Patil and additional two Cardiac Anaesthetists who look after the patients in the Pre-op, Intra-op and Post-op periods.

The department of CVTS is fully equipped with state of the art equipments with 4 dedicated Hi-Tech modular Operating Rooms, 20 bedded ITU for adult patients and 8 bedded PITU for paediatric patients. More than 150 dedicated nurses and paramedical staff look after all types of cardiac patients.

Dr. Richard Saldanha


1. International Member- Society of thoracic surgeons
2. India Association of cardiovascular and thoracic Surgeons
3. Cardiological Society of India, Coimbatore chapter
4. Cardiological Society of India, Bangalore chapter
5. Chest Society of Bangalore
6. Indian College of Cardiology
7. Indian Chest Society

Prof. Gan Mohan Dattatraya

Dr. Praveen R Tambrallimath
M.Ch. (CVTS)

Dr. Ravi Ghatnatti

Achievements: Editorial board member for the international journal – Advanced emergency medicine.

Dr. Kiran Laxman Kurkure

Dr. Nikunj Jayprakash Vyas

Achievements: Membership of India Association of cardiovascular and thoracic Surgeons.

Dr. Abhishek Prabhu